Water Polo North Island Champs, 2015

There was double delight for Sacred Heart at the Dio Pool on Sunday 29 November.


First up the Junior B team captured the Division 2 final gritting it out for a 5-3 win over Whangaparoa College with Joel Hannah taking out the MVP for Division 2 boys.


Then the Junior A team pushed on to edge out Mt Maunganui College 6-4 in the final of the Junior A boys. Louis Ferigo took out the MVP award, with Patrik Zatko gaining an outstanding player award. It was Sacred Hearts sixth win in the 28 Year history of the event . Only Westlake BHS have bettered that with seven titles . An interesting fact is that the wins for Sacred Heart have come in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2014,2015- five since the Institute came into play!

Prior to this the Junior A had a nail biting 5-4 win over Rosmini in the quarter final. Trailing 1-0 at half time they unleashed a five goal third quarter to take a comfortable 5-1 lead but Rosmini fought back strongly to trial 5-4 then missed an open goal shot in the dying seconds that could have forced overtime but that was not to be. In the semi final , Sacred Heart went out strongly to put the match out of Aquinas reach and came out 11-7 winners.

The Junior B team emulated the A teams feat by also winning their quarter final 12-6 over PNBHS then managed a 6-3 semi final over John Paul from Rotorua to reach the Junior B final.The Junior B team of Year 9 took the David and Goliath story to new heights today, proving that size didn’t mean anything! 

Back to News