Duke of Edinburgh – Bronze Awards

The Duke of Edinburgh Hillary Award has been offered at Sacred Heart since 2015.


The Award Programme was first introduced in the United Kingdom in 1956 as The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award, to encourage and motivate young people over the age of 14 to become involved in a balanced programme of voluntary self?development activities. The Programme was designed with great care by a small team, whose members included HRH The Duke of Edinburgh; Dr Kurt Hahn, educationalist and founder of Outward Bound and the United World Colleges; Lord Porritt, the New Zealand Olympic athlete, Royal Surgeon and former Governor?General; and Lord Hunt, the famous adventurer and leader of the team which supported Sir Edmund Hillary in the conquest of Mount Everest.

Almost as soon as it was launched in the UK, the Award was taken up by schools and youth groups in other countries. The unique composition of the Programme is ideally suited to easy adaptation and integration into different cultures and societies. The basic content of the Award remains the same throughout the world, but the activities, the application and even the title are all adapted to suit the varying needs of young people in different countries. The Award has developed and grown, touching the lives of young people in more than 140 countries. The Programme is continuously evaluated and modified to suit the changing demands of modern society and the needs of young people. Today the Award is a major international programme recognised and used by agencies concerned with youth throughout the world.

In New Zealand, although one or two organisations started taking part earlier, it was not until 18 July 1963 that the Governor-General, Sir Bernard Fergusson, held the inaugural meeting of the National Council of The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award in New Zealand at Government House in Wellington, when a Constitution for The Award in New Zealand was adopted.


There are three levels:  Bronze, Silver and Gold.


Three of our Boys have recently qualified for the Bronze Award.  They are:

James Davies

Dylan Duffy-Bregmen

Jesse Masters


To qualify for the Bronze Award students have to complete 4 sections:

1.      Physical Recreation

2.      Skill

3.      Community Service

4.      Adventurous Journey


Two of the first three sections must be done for three months and one for six months, averaging one hour per week over the time period.

The adventurous journey involves classroom training in various aspects of tramping, a practice journey to make sure students are ready, and then the qualifier journey which was in the Waitekere Ranges in 2015. This tramp involved two days and one night camping and a trek on foot of 40km, which was double the required distance for Bronze!


All three boys are already working on their Silver Awards and in fact they are going on a Silver Adventurous Journey on 1 September.

There are also a number of boys who will qualify for the Bronze Award very soon, so watch this space!

Boys can sign up any time of the year.  Registration forms are available form Mrs Van Zyl in K10.



Back to News