Rowing at Sacred Heart College has had three distinct periods since the College embraced the sport in 1936. The first period was 1936 to 1954 when the College was located on the Richmond Rd site. After the move to the Glen Innes site, rowing went into abeyance from 1955 till the second period which lasted from 1970 till 1978. It then went into abeyance again until 1995 – a period that has endured till the present day.

The standard of rowing at New Zealand secondary school level continues to rise and the College has adopted two initiatives to reach those standards. The College has endeavoured to have the boys compete in high class boats and the original four boats of the 1930s have now become 8 eights; 8 fours; 5 doubles. The College also adopted the policy that boats would be named after an aspect of the College’s Catholic Marist Character and, in alternate years, in honour of a person who has given many years of service to Sacred Heart Rowing. Thus the newer boats have been named: Cecilia Fitz-Gerald, Esto Vir and Jim Dale.

The second initiative was to have the College employ a professional coach as Head of Rowing in line with similar positions in the College’s other major sports. Since this policy was adopted Mike Whittaker, Kirsty Dunhill, Mike O'Brien, Greg Reid and Ian Bright have been employed. These two initiatives have allowed the College to be more competitive in regattas throughout the season.

Our connection to Sacred Heart old boy rowers is growing, and in the near future a Sacred Oarsman project will see all of our rowers, all the way back to the 1936/37 season issued with a number that will identify them as a Sacred Heart Rower.



Club Captain John Reelick
Chairperson Jerry Leaupepe
Secretary Darren Elmore
Communications Alison Slyfield
New Parent Liaison Leanne Takurua-Newland
Boarder Liaison Paula Usal
Catering Jody Chamberlain
Transport Margot Clegg
Fundraising Gavin Lloyd
Health & Safety  Suzanne Manihera
Accommodation Diane Burggraaf
Uniforms Rosie King
Volunteer Sign-up Rachael Gilligan
Maintenance Mike Farrington
Treasurer TBC
/eacher-in-Charge Mike O'Brien
Rowing Captain- 2018/2019 TBC
Coaching Team Mike O'Brien
Terry Dolan
Life Members Br Terence Costello
Chris Klaassen


For more Rowing information including 2019/2020 regattas and uniform requirements, click here


Sacred Heart College Rowing Club Awards 2018/2019
Most Improved U14 Rower Jack Jury
Most Improved U15 Rower Blake Chamberlain
Most Improved U16 Rower Thomas Clingin
Most Improved U17 Rower Adam Clark
Most Improved U18 Rower Xavier Yates & Hamish McKay
Most Improved Novice Jackson Dunn
Best Rower U14 James Sylfield
Best Rower U15 Kyan Dean-Rivers
Best Rower U16 Xavier Smidt
Best Rower U17 Max Burggraaf
Best Rower U18 Xavier Yates & Hamish McKay
Best Novice Robson Wallace
Most Improved Coxswain Cameron McKinley
Best Coxswain Jack Higgins
Tom Polo Cup - Best Erg Time Adam Clark
Best Crew 4 SHC and Maadi Trophy U18 4+ (NISS 4+) H McKay, A Clark, J Kingi, M Burggraaf + C Miller
Best Crew 8 - SHC/HOT Trophy U18 Novice 8+ J Dunn, J Leaupepetele, A Bolton, R Wallace, H Arkley, H Packer, K Dean-Rivers, J Sifakula + J Higgins
Attitude and Commitment Talisman Lloyd
Best Crew Spirit U15 Eight K Dean-Rivers, J Sifakula, M Ward, J Takurua-Newland, J Slyfield, B Chamberlain, F Usal, M Seselj + C McKinley
Exceptional Performance U18 Double NISS 1st Place - Xavier Yates & Hamish McKay
Most Improved Rower Thomas Clingin
Best Rower Xavier Yates & Hamish McKay