Board of Trustees

Role of the Board of Trustees

The role of the Board of Trustees is outlined in the Education Act 1989, which gives the Board the authority to govern the school within the provisions of the current legislation and the National Education Guidelines. The Board is also charged with ensuring that the Special Character of the school is maintained and fostered.

Sacred Heart’s Board of Trustees provides direction to the Principal and staff through the development, monitoring and review of school policy, as well as through setting strategic goals and reviewing how well these are achieved. The Principal and staff have the tasks of developing and implementing operational plans and objectives that guide the educational and administrative activities within the school.

Election of new Board Members

The Board of Trustees is comprised of four Proprietors' representatives, five elected parent representatives, the Principal and an elected representative each for staff and students. The Proprietors applications are submitted to Bishop Patrick Dunn for selection. Parent representatives must be nominated by a member of the school, and voted on by the school parent community. Re-elections for the parent representative positions are held every three years. The teacher representative is nominated and elected by the staff of the school; the student representative is nominated and elected by the students of the school.

Board of Trustees Members - The current Board (2019-2021) comprises

Proprietor's Representatives
  • Mr Nick Ansley
  • Mrs Michelle Olsen 
  • Br Kevin Wanden
  • Mrs Frances Witana (Chairperson) 
Parents' Representatives
  • Ms Nathalie Watson
  • Mr Dave Lewis
  • Mr Simon Hayden
  • Mr Brendon Gibson
  • Mr John O’Brien
College Representatives
  • Mr Stephen Dooley (Principal)
  • Mr Grant van Ansem (Staff)
  • Aidan de Souza (Student Rep 2019) 


To contact the Board of Trustees email the Board Secretary.
Tel: 09 529 3748